Warning: ksort() expects parameter 1 to be array, object given in /home/content/p3nexnas05_data03/57/2118757/html/wp-content/plugins/bbpress/includes/core/template-functions.php on line 316
The Latest Pull

COMIC REVIEW: SWITCH #1

Image Comics

Writer: Stjepan Sejic

Artist: Stjepan Sejic

Price: $3.99

 

 

Switch #1 is an opportunity for those who are unfamiliar with the mythology of The Darkness and Witchblade to finally step into Top Cow’s universe. The series that started off as a webseries on DeviantArt introduces a new character who is unlike anyone else who has held on to the Witchblade previously. It’s a great jumping on point, despite stumbling sometimes over the magnitude of the universe it takes place in.

 

Switch follows Mary, a teenage girl who doesn’t really fit the mold of those who have used the Witchblade before her. She is much more unique than other characters published by Top Cow, mostly due to her appearance and character. She is kind of geeky with a passion for astronomy, and has a strong sense of family. Mary also isn’t an oversexualized female, which is a great move from Top Cow. Switch feels like a coming of age story, kind of like Ms. Marvel, and opens the door for a new audience. Mary is a strong character and readers will likely find it easy to relate to her as she goes through high school and deals with her abilities.

 

 

Considering how dense the lore is, Sejic did the best he could in making this title friendly to new readers. There’s a lot to take in, and unfortunately Sejic is forced to bog the story down with exposition in order to make the series accessible. While at times it seems to be too much, new readers will have a good understanding of what they are getting into by the end of the issue, and will find themselves on board. With the excessive exposition comes some rocky pacing, but this is a flaw that will likely be gone in a few issues.

 

 

Those who want their comics to be absolutely serious will find themselves turned off by this one, as Sejic uses a lot of cheesy dialogue and puns to break things up. Even during battles between powerful ancient beings there are awful puns thrown out around. It’s all part of the fun, but it could definitely turn away a few readers.

 

Those who are at all familiar with Sejic’s art will know what to expect to here. The lines are almost messy, but still careful and precise, leading to a unique look. The style lends itself well to the writing, as it makes character expressions much more powerful. Sejic uses a color palette with a lot of yellows and reds, though these don’t do too much to detract the series from its lighthearted tone. There is a surprising amount of detail in every panel, showing how much time Sejic put into this title.

 

 

Switch #1 is a solid debut that should attract a new audience that doesn’t want to see the hypersexualized female protagonists that usually come with this kind of book. Mary is lovable and is definitely worthy of having her own title. While the book is heavy on exposition, and suffers from rocky pacing, the strong characters make this a worthy pull. Fans of Ms. Marvel or Rat Queens will find a lot to like here, and should give this one a try.

Image Comics Writer: Stjepan Sejic Artist: Stjepan Sejic Price: $3.99     Switch #1 is an opportunity for those who are unfamiliar with the mythology of The Darkness and Witchblade to finally step into Top Cow’s universe. The series that started off as a webseries on DeviantArt introduces a new character who is unlike anyone else who has held on to the Witchblade previously. It’s a great jumping on point, despite stumbling sometimes over the magnitude of the universe it takes place in.   Switch follows Mary, a teenage girl who doesn’t really fit the mold of those who have used the Witchblade before her. She is much more unique than other characters published by Top Cow, mostly due to her appearance and character. She is kind of geeky with a passion for astronomy, and has a strong sense of family. Mary also isn’t an oversexualized female, which is a great move from Top Cow. Switch feels like a coming of age story, kind of like Ms. Marvel, and opens the door for a new audience. Mary is a strong character and readers will likely find it easy to relate to her as she goes through high school and deals with her abilities.     Considering how dense the lore is, Sejic did the best he could in making this title friendly to new readers. There’s a lot to take in, and unfortunately Sejic is forced to bog the story down with exposition in order to make the series accessible. While at times it seems to be too much, new readers will have a good understanding of what they are getting into by the end of the issue, and will find themselves on board. With the excessive exposition comes some rocky pacing, but this is a flaw that will likely be gone in a few issues.     Those who want their comics to be absolutely serious will find themselves turned off by this one, as Sejic uses a lot of cheesy dialogue and puns to break things up. Even during battles between powerful ancient beings there are awful puns thrown out around. It’s all part of the fun, but it could definitely turn away a few readers.   Those who are at all familiar with Sejic’s art will know what to expect to here. The lines are almost messy, but still careful and precise, leading to a unique look. The style lends itself well to the writing, as it makes character expressions much more powerful. Sejic uses a color palette with a lot of yellows and reds, though these don’t do too much to detract the series from its lighthearted tone. There is a surprising amount of detail in every panel, showing how much time Sejic put into this title.     Switch #1 is a solid debut that should attract a new audience that doesn’t want to see the hypersexualized female protagonists that usually come with this kind of book. Mary is lovable and is definitely worthy of…
Story - 7.5
Characters - 8.3
Art - 8.5

8.1

Switch #1 is a fun debut that allows for a new generation to get into the Witchblade universe.

User Rating: Be the first one !
8